Standing Committee for the Investigation of Research Misconduct Allegations

The Senate Committee investigates cases where researchers allegedly made false statements, by intent or grossly negligent, infringed intellectual rights of third parties or impacted research activities in another way.

Three professors, an academic staff member and a student are the members of the Committee for the Investigation of Research Misconduct Allegations. In addition, the Senate elects a researcher as ombudsperson for university members affected. The ombudsperson’s term of office is two years.

  • Ombudspersons


    Prof. Dr. Georg Bitter
    Chair of Private Law, Banking Law and Capital Market Law, Insolvency Law

    Deputy ombudsperson

    Prof. Dr. Jens-Uwe Franck
    Chair of Civil Law, Commercial Law and Competition Law

    The ombudspersons are the first points of contacts in cases of suspicion.

  • Members

    From the group of university teachers
    (Term of office: 1 August 2022 – 31 July 2024)

    Prof. Dr. Andreas Maurer  (chair)
    Chair of Civil Law and European Transport Law

    Prof. Dr. Johannes Voget
    Chair of Taxation and Finance

    Prof. Dr. Thorsten Meiser
    Chair of Research Methods and Psychological Assessment

    From the group of academic staff members
    (Term of office: 1 August 2022 – 31 July 2024)

    Dr. Gernot Wirth  (deputy chair)

    Dr. Stefan Glomb

    From the group of students
    (Term of office: 1 August 2021 – 31 July 2022)

    Konrad Tyczewski (as of 28 September 2022)

    Kilian Klemm