Habiba El Gohary / Photo credit: Jula Jacob

“It was very easy for me to settle in”

Habiba El Gohary is 19 years old and grew up in Abu Dhabi. Originally, she is from Cairo. Habiba is a first semester bachelor’s student at the University of Mannheim. She studies Political Science as a major and Economics as a minor. In her myUniMA story, she tells us why she already knew at a young age that she would one day study in Germany. She also talks about the differences between living in Germany and Abu Dhabi and explains what she likes most about studying in Mannheim.

Why did you choose to study at the University of Mannheim and how do you like it here so far?

I chose Mannheim because the bachelor’s programs Political Science and Economics have been ranked highly and because other students have told me lots of good things about Mannheim. I wanted to study Political Science and Economics because the two subjects are closely linked to each other. A country’s economy can only work, if the political situation is right. I like my study program so far. I appreciate the fact that the university is very international and has an international academic calendar. That makes it so much easier for international students. My semester breaks, for example, correspond to those of my siblings. I also like the fact that the University of Mannheim is not a huge university and that I don’t have to sit on the floor during lectures or be half an hour early in order to get a seat. And the Schloss, of course – the attraction of the city of Mannheim.

Your German is very good. How did you learn the language?

After 4th grade, I had the opportunity to enter a selection procedure at the Deutsche Evangelische Oberschule in Cairo, which sounded pretty interesting to my parents. Out of 500 candidates, 25 were accepted. The goal was to speak German at a native level in 10th grade. When I was in 7th grade, I moved to Abu Dhabi and went to the German International School there. That was really tough for me, because suddenly all my classmates were native Germans. I had been learning German for only two years, so I was a little overwhelmed – also during classes. But now it’s no longer a problem. I took my German International Abitur there and now I’m actually the first international student who has obtained the Abitur at the German International School Abu Dhabi and now studies in Mannheim.

Was there a specific reason for your parents to send you to a German school?

My mom was born in Germany, but her parents are originally from Egypt. When she was ten years old, she moved to Egypt together with her mother. My grandfather stayed here and obtained the German citizenship.  I don’t really know why my parents wanted me to go to a German school. Maybe my mother send me there because she was sad about having lost some of her language skills in German or about no longer being fluent in German. My siblings go to the same school, so we usually talk to each other in German.

Back home, you had already been in contact with Germans on a regular basis. Was it easy for you to settle in in Germany?

It was very easy for me to settle in. I immediately enjoyed living here. The fact that all my friends in Abu Dhabi were German certainly contributed to this. At first, I was sad that I had moved to Abu Dhabi, but now I’m very happy about it. I know many international students who went to the German school in Egypt. But they only had Arabic classmates and they only learned formal German. That makes a huge difference.

What were the biggest changes that you had to get used to?

The biggest change was most certainly the weather. In Abu Dhabi, it’s sometimes 49 or 50 degrees. You really have to get used to the temperatures here in Germany. And I also had to get used to people around here. I think Germany is not as international as Abu Dhabi. In Abu Dhabi, you walk two meters and you have already met people of four different nationalities. And even though the United Arab Emirates is an Arabic country, everyone speaks English in everyday life. On the other hand, I really appreciate the fact that traveling within Europe is so easy. You drive to the airport and, just like that, you fly to Barcelona. That’s different in Abu Dhabi, even though you can, for example, go to Oman or Dubai by car. However, I miss the lifestyle and luxury of the Emirates. And I also miss the beach and, of course, my mom’s cooking.

What do you like to do in your free time?

Back in Abu Dhabi, I loved playing padel. Padel is a Spanish sport, a mixture of squash and tennis. Unfortunately, there are not many padel clubs around here – the next one is in Karlsruhe. Apart from that, I go to the gym every second day and I enjoy seeing my friends. On top of that, I’m a member of the student organization Infinity. I’m active in the corporate social responsibility , because I’m interested in environment. Last fall, I was an intern at the Environmental Agency of Abu Dhabi for two months and represented young adults at the World Ocean Summit. That’s something I’m very proud of. After the summit, I have developed a concept which can be compared to the German Pfand system, because people in Abu Dhabi use a lot of plastic. My concept has already been tested by the Minister of Climate Change and Environment in the Mall of the Emirates, the second largest shopping mall in Dubai. I was so happy when I read in the newspaper that the concept I have developed will now be implemented. In the next semester break, I’m planning to do an internship at the Ministry of Planning, Monitoring and Administrative Reform in Egypt. I’m curious to see what challenges my home country is facing in this field and I hope that my experiences will help me make a contribution.

Text: Elena Koch / November 2019

Habiba El Gohary / Foto: Jula Jacob

„Es war ganz leicht mich einzuleben“

Habiba El Gohary ist 19 Jahre alt, kommt aus Kairo und ist in Abu Dhabi aufgewachsen. Sie studiert im ersten Bachelor-Semester Politik­wissenschaften und VWL. In ihrer myUniMA Story erzählt sie uns, warum es für sie schon früh feststand, dass sie einmal in Deutschland studieren wird, welche Unterschiede es zwischen dem Leben in Abu Dhabi und Deutschland gibt und was ihr am Studium in Mannheim besonders gefällt.

Warum hast du dich für ein Studium an der Uni Mannheim entschieden und wie gefällt es dir bisher?

Ich habe mich für Mannheim entschieden, weil das Ranking für Politik­wissenschaften und VWL sehr gut war und ich nur Positives von anderen Studenten gehört habe. Ich wollte diese Fächer studieren, weil Politik­wissenschaften und VWL ganz viel miteinander zu tun haben. Die Wirtschaft funktioniert nur, wenn die Politik stimmt. Das Studium gefällt mir bisher ganz gut. An der Uni mag ich, dass sie sehr international ist und internationale Semesterzeiten hat. Das macht es für internationale Studierende viel einfacher, da ich zur selben Zeit Ferien habe wie meine Geschwister. Außerdem gefällt mir, dass es keine Massenuni ist und ich in den Vorlesungen nicht auf dem Boden sitzen muss oder eine halbe Stunde früher da sein muss, um einen Platz zu bekommen. Und das Schloss natürlich – die Attraktion Mannheims.

Du sprichst sehr gut Deutsch. Wo hast du die Sprache gelernt?

Nach der vierten Klasse gab es einen Auswahl­verfahren der Deutschen Evangelischen Oberschule Kairo, das meine Eltern ganz interessant fanden. Von 500 Bewerbern wurden insgesamt 25 Schüler angenommen. Ziel war, dass man in der 10. Klasse so gut Deutsch spricht wie ein Muttersprachler. In der 7. Klasse bin ich dann nach Abu Dhabi gezogen und habe dort die German International School besucht. Das war für mich sehr schwer, da ich auf einmal in eine Klasse nur mit deutschen Mitschülern eingeteilt wurde. Ich hatte gerade zwei Jahre Deutsch gelernt und war ein bisschen überfordert, auch im Unterricht. Aber jetzt habe ich überhaupt keine Probleme mehr. Ich habe dort mein Deutsches Internationales Abitur gemacht und bin tatsächlich die erste Bildungs­inländerin aus der Deutschen Schule in Abu Dhabi, die jetzt in Mannheim studiert.

Gab es einen besonderen Grund, warum deine Eltern dich auf eine deutsche Schule geschickt haben?

Meine Mama ist in Deutschland geboren, aber ihre Eltern sind ursprünglich aus Ägypten. Sie ist dann mit 10 Jahren mit ihrer Mutter nach Ägypten gezogen, und mein Opa ist hiergeblieben und hat die deutsche Staats­bürgerschaft erhalten.  Ich habe keine genaue Erklärung dafür, warum meine Eltern wollten, dass ich eine deutsche Schule besuche. Aber es kann sein, dass meine Mutter es schade fand, dass sie das Deutsch etwas verlernt hat oder zumindest nicht mehr fließend beherrscht und mich deswegen dorthin geschickt hat. Da meine Geschwister dieselbe Schule besuchen, rede ich auch mit ihnen hauptsächlich auf Deutsch.

Nachdem du bereits zu Hause viel Kontakt zu Deutschen hattest – fiel es dir leicht, dich an Deutschland zu gewöhnen?

Es war ganz leicht mich einzuleben, ich habe mich direkt wohlgefühlt. Dass ich in Abu Dhabi nur deutsche Freunde hatte, hat sicher dazu beigetragen. Am Anfang war ich traurig, dass ich nach Abu Dhabi gezogen bin, aber jetzt bin ich sehr froh darüber. Ich kenne viele internationale Studierende, die auf der Deutschen Schule in Ägypten waren, aber nur arabische Mitschüler hatten und bloß formelles Deutsch gelernt haben. Das macht schon einen Unterschied.

Was waren die größten Umstellungen für dich?

Die größte Umstellung für mich war definitiv das Wetter. In Abu Dhabi sind es manchmal 49 oder 50 Grad, da muss man sich schon an die Temperaturen hier gewöhnen. Dann die Menschen: Ich würde sagen, dass Deutschland nicht so international ist wie Abu Dhabi. Man läuft dort zwei Meter über die Straße und lernt vier Nationalitäten kennen. Und obwohl es ein arabisches Land ist, wird im Alltag hauptsächlich Englisch gesprochen. Dafür finde ich es cool, dass es innerhalb von Europa so einfach ist zu reisen. Man fährt zum Flughafen und fliegt mal eben nach Barcelona. Das ist in Abu Dhabi nicht so, auch wenn man z.B. in den Oman fahren kann oder nach Dubai. Allerdings vermisse ich den Lifestyle und das Luxusleben der Emirate. Außerdem fehlt mir der Strand und natürlich das Essen von Mama.

Was machst du neben dem Studium?

In Abu Dhabi habe ich sehr gerne Padel gespielt. Das ist eine spanische Sportart, eine Mischung aus Squash und Tennis. Leider gibt es das hier nur selten, die nächste Möglichkeit wäre in Karlsruhe. Ansonsten geh ich jeden zweiten Tag ins Gym und treffe mich gerne mit Freunden. Ich engagiere mich außerdem bei der Studierenden­initiative Infinity, im Ressort CSR, da mich das Thema Umwelt sehr interessiert. Im letzten Herbst habe ich ein zweimonatiges Praktikum bei der Environmental Agency of Abu Dhabi gemacht und die Jugendlichen beim World Ocean Summit repräsentiert, da bin ich sehr stolz drauf. Daraufhin habe ich ein Konzept, ähnlich dem deutschen Pfand-System, entwickelt, da in Abu Dhabi sehr viel Plastik konsumiert wird. Mein Konzept wurde bereits vom Minister für Klimawandel und Umwelt in der Mall of the Emirates, der zweitgrößten Mall in Dubai, getestet. Ich war echt happy, als ich in der Zeitung gelesen habe, dass das Konzept, an dem ich gearbeitet habe, jetzt umgesetzt wird. Für die kommenden Semesterferien habe ich ein Praktikum beim Ministry of Planning, Monitoring and Administrative Reform in Ägypten geplant. Ich bin sehr gespannt, welchen Herausforderungen sich meine Heimat in diesem Bereich gegenüber sieht und hoffe, durch meine Erfahrungen etwas beitragen zu können.

Text: Elena Koch / November 2019